Wednesday, June 7, 2017

American Legion Ambulance recognizes emergency response teams at EMS Strong

Sutter Amador Hospital Honored at American Legion Ambulance Award Reception

During National EMS Week, the American Legion Ambulance Services (ALA) hosted its annual awards reception, EMS Strong, to honor those who have been instrumental in providing care to the community.

For more than 20 years, the ALA has hosted the event that brings together 100 ambulance personnel, members of the local fire departments, EMS, hospital employees and law enforcement officials for an evening of celebration and delicious barbecue provided by the Jackson Fire Department.

“This year’s theme, ‘Always in Service,’ embraces the spirit of our emergency personnel and volunteers,” said Michelle Clark, operations manager of the Amador County ALA who helped organized the event. “These responders encounter stressful situations every day and it is important that they are recognized and shown gratitude for the job that they do.”

Earlier this year, ballots were sent to all emergency medical services agencies for individuals to nominate and vote for the award winners recognized at the ALA event.  This year’s winners include:
·         EMT of the Year – Jerry Darrow, American Legion Ambulance Services
·         Paramedic of the Year – Caleb Heuser, American Legion Ambulance Services
·         EMS Person of the Year – Michelle Clark, American Legion Ambulance Services
·         Dispatcher of the Year – Brandi Farrell, American Legion Ambulance Services
·         Search and Rescue Member of the Year – Mitch Vinciguerra, Amador County Sheriff’s
·         Mobile Intensive Care Nurse of the Year – Jessica Sharver, Sutter Amador Hospital
·         Provider of the Year – Dr. Shawn Brady, Sutter Amador Hospital
·         Unsung Hero of the Year – Vicki Haggart, Sutter Amador Hospital
·         First Responder of the Year: Diego Terrones, Amador Fire Protection District; Dennis Howarth, Amador Fire Protection District; Jesse DiGirolamo, Jackson Fire Department; George Faist, Jackson Valley Fire Protection District; Ben Fisher, Lockwood Fire Protection District.

“The award celebration is very special because the nominees and award winners are both selected by their peers,” said Connie McKenna, R.N., nurse supervisor at Sutter Amador Hospital. “The winner in each category received a dedicated plaque from the ALA.”
Guests, nominees and their families were invited to the event at the American Legion Hall to celebrate award winners who in many cases went about the call of duty, acted in extraordinary circumstance or helped save a life.

“It was a very enjoyable evening and an honor to be recognized,” said Vicki Haggart, Sutter Amador Hospital award recipient who joined ten nominees from the hospital. “The awards exemplify the strong community partnership that we have with the ALA and emergency response organizations with the shared goal of assisting others and making a positive impact in our community.”
As part of the evening, the American Fire Protection District, ALA, Ione Fire Department and Jackson Fire Department recognized staff with 20 to 40 years of experience. All nominees and their family members were invited to participate in a free raffle courtesy of generous community donations.
“It is the one night a year we come together as emergency medical responders and show appreciation for the heroic acts and risks we take as part of our jobs,” said Clark.

The American Legion Ambulance and Sutter Amador Hospital share in a mission to provide quality health care to the regions through strong partnerships. This year, the hospital assisted the ALA in clinical training as part of their critical transport program and the ALA donated $228,000 to Sutter Amador Hospital for new equipment in the hospital’s Emergency Department.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.